Ryleigh Bakker and Ryan Jacques teams win the Alberta Optimist U18 Curling Championships

Well, another year — and another Alberta Optimist U18 Curling Championship!

The inclement weather did not allow many Optimists to attend the Championships in Okotoks. However, it didn’t stop Edmontonians Clint Sopchyshyn and his wife, Geneva, from being there. Clint setup an Optimist Table at the Okotoks Curling Club. He, Geneva and Duane Kelly from the Calgary and High River Optimist Clubs attended the Banquet and other Championship events.

Clint also was a speaker at both the Opening Ceremonies and the Banquet. Then on Sunday, Clint and Pat Shorrock from the High River Optimist Club presented the medals at the Closing Ceremonies.

The teams competing were:

Women                                                                                                                              Men

  1. Wytrychowski – Airdrie CC N. Molberg – St. Albert CC
    A. Marks – Saville Community Sport Centre                         R. Jacques – Saville Community Sport Centre
    J. Bakos – Saville Community Sport Centre                         A. Power – Saville Community Sport Centre
    M. Radke – Grande Prairie CC                                           C. Sonnenberg – Grande Prairie CC
    C. Whitney – Fairview CC                                                  W. Stockman – Beaverlodge CC
    H. Vincent – Red Deer CC                                                             C. Ector – North Hill CC
    S. Thangadurai – Calgary Winter Club                                 D. Young – Airdrie
    R. Bakker – Calgary CC & Okotoks CC                               Z. McLeod – North Hill CC 

An Okotoks newspaper, the Western Wheel, published the an article regarding the results of the Championships; to read it, click here.